Installing Chromium 49 on Raspberry Pi 3

I tried looking at an older post, showing installation guide of Chromium 48 on Raspbian Jessie, but used 49 instead. It gave me errors about bad versions of packages and I had to use sudo apt-get -f install which uninstalled Chromium completely. I had to reinstall version 48 instead to get Chromium working again. I can’t remember what packages had old versions. Please can you comment to tell me how to get Chromium 49 and 52 running?!

Thanks!

Epic Chas Gamer 😎

4 thoughts on “Installing Chromium 49 on Raspberry Pi 3

  1. UPDATE: I managed to hunt down a newer version of libfontconfig and there was another missing package that I managed to hunt down. I was trying to run v52. When I launched it from the terminal. It launched and then crashed with the error Segmentation fault. I hat to downgrade back to v48.

    Like

  2. UPDATE: Seems like Chromium is now in the Raspbian Repositories. Version 51 is available and can be installed on Raspbian with the following command:

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install chromium-browser

    Enjoy!

    Epic Chas Gamer 🙂

    Like

Go on, you know you want to! Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.